• ***IMPORTANT*** SOME PASSWORDS NOT WORKING

There has been some issues with user passwords. Some users may need to reset their passwords to login to the forum. Please use the password reset option when logging in. If you do experience issues and find our account is locked then please email admin@jackarmy.net Thanks

Electric vehicles

Pacemaker

Alan Waddle
Reaction score
There seems to be a real push for EV’s at the moment with lots of articles in the media and the Govt looking to ban new ICE vehicles in the near future.

A few of my friends have gone EV and now all appear totally sold on the vehicles.

I did use to do a fair bit of mileage when I commuted to my office but now I WFH with only occasional longer trips I am tempted to buy one, anyone on here been converted?

Any tips?

I work in the industry and even for me it's a little bit too early. The cost of a conventional powertrain has not yet overtaken the cost of an EV equivalent although the gap is closing quickly. Battery cell price reduction is the primary reason for the increased competitiveness but it's got a little way to go. 30% EV market share by 2030 is my prediction so even then it's not quite mainstream technology. That said there are some tremendous bargains out there that cannot be ignored if you're not fussy on choice of car / spec / colour.

Honda have said all their new vehicles will be electric or hybrid by 2022. I hope they find a way to recreate the noise of petrol engines though, a v12 dbs drove past me (walking) at low speed last week, I almost had an incident.

I drive an electric taxi, the major sticking point at the moment is battery capacity i get 115 miles off a 80% charge (optimum charge %) but that isn't a true reflextion of the milage attainable and in the winter when everything runs off the battery if you have the heating and wipers going you can knock a third off that milage. It will be sone years until it makes it a totally worthwhile option.